THE NIGHT WATCHMAN wins 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Louise Erdrich has won the 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for her 2020 novel, The Night Watchman. The Pulitzer committee described the book as “a majestic, polyphonic novel about a community’s efforts to halt the proposed displacement and elimination of several Native American tribes in the 1950s, rendered with dexterity and imagination.

The two finalists were A Registry of My Passage Upon the Earth, by Daniel Mason (Little, Brown and Company)Telephone, by Percival Everett (Graywolf Press).

This is Erdrich’s first Pulitzer, although her 2009 novel, A Plague of Doves, was a finalist. In April, The Night Watchman won the 2021 Aspen Words Literary Prize.

Erdrich has won or been a finalist for all of the major literary awards.

The Round House (2012) won the National Book Award, while The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse was a finalist for the NBA in 2001.

Both her 1983 debut, Love Medicine, and LaRose (2016) won the National Book Critics Circle Award. A Plague of Doves won the 2009 Anisfield-Wolf Book Prize. In 2014 she received the Dayton Literary Peace Prize’s Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award and the PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction. And in 2015 she won the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.