Louise Erdrich among winners of American Book Awards

The Round House

Louise Erdrich’s powerful novel The Round House has netted the Minnesota writer yet another award. Erdrich received an American Book Award at the Miami Book Fair International  last weekend (Nov. 23-24), along with nearly three dozen other writers. The ABA, established in 1980 by the Before Columbus Foundation, honors diversity in American letters. Erdrich won the 2012 National Book Award for The Round House last November (you may have read about the NBA last week, with the announcement of the 2013 winners). She is an enrolled member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, a band of the Anishinaabe (also known as Ojibwa and Chippewa).

Erdrich’s debut novel, Love Medicine (1984), won the National Book Critics Circle Award, and is considered a modern classic. The Plague of Doves (2009) was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Phillip Roth lauded the book, saying, “Louise Erdrich’s imaginative freedom has reached its zenith — The Plague of Doves is her dazzling masterpiece.” The consensus among her fans, however, seems to be that The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse (2001) is her best novel. http://www.amazon.com/Last-Report-Miracles-Little-Horse/dp/0061577626

Erdrich is also the owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis (Ann Patchett is not the only writer who is also a bookstore owner).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.