National Book Foundation names 2020 “5 Under 35” Recipients

Each year the National Book Foundation asks previous National Book Award winners to choose one young writer whose debut work “promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape.”

All five 2020 recipients are women.

The 5 Under 35 Honorees for 2020:

  • K-Ming Chang, Bestiary, selected by Justin Torres
  • Naima Coster, Halsey Street, selected by Tayari Jones
  • Raven Leilani, Luster, selected by Susan Choi
  • Fatima Farheen Mirza, A Place for Us, selected by Tommy Orange
  • C Pam Zhang, How Much of These Hills Is Gold, selected by Marlon James

The honorees are recognized at a ceremony and presented with a $1,000 prize.

Previous honorees include Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Brit Bennett, Angela Flournoy, Phil Klay, Valeria Luiselli, C.E. Morgan, Téa Obreht, ZZ Packer, Karen Russell, Justin Torres, Bryan Washington, Claire Vaye Watkins, and Tiphanie Yanique.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.