International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award shortlist announced

Americanah hardcover   burialrites   Someone -- McDermott   Sparta

Ten novels have been named to the shortlist for the 20th annual International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards managed by Dublin city libraries. With a prize of 100,000 Euros, the IMPAC Award is the most lucrative award for any single work of fiction in English. This year’s nominees are a diverse group from the UK, U.S., Australia, France, Nigeria, Morocco, and Brazil. Three of the novels are translations (from French, Portuguese, and Morrocan).

Here are the finalists (women writers are in bold):

1. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigerian) Published by Knopf

2. Horses of God by Mahi Binebine (Moroccan) Translated from French by Lulu Norman. Published by Tin House Books

3. Harvest by Jim Crace (British) Published by Nan Talese

4. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Australian) Published by Vintage

5. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (Australian) First Novel. Published by Little, Brown & Company

6. K by Bernardo Kucinski (Brazilian) Translated from Portuguese by Sue Branford. Published by Latin American Bureau

7. Brief Loves That Live Forever by Andreï Makine (French, Russian-born) Translated from French by Geoffrey Strachan. Published by MacLehose Press

8. TransAtlantic by Colum McCann (Irish) Published by Random House

9. Someone by Alice McDermott (American) Published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux

10. Sparta by Roxana Robinson (American) Published by Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar, Straus & Giroux

“The 20th winner will be chosen from this intriguing international shortlist which includes four women writers. The novels come from Africa, America, Australia, Brazil, France, Ireland and the UK,” said Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian. “While many of the stories reflect contemporary themes, they bring us characters facing timeless challenges of love and loss, of innocence and isolation. These engaging stories are set against contrasting landscapes which include Brooklyn, Iceland and Lagos.”

The winner will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin on the morning of Wednesday,  June 17.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.